Jewish Studies Guide
Sources for works on Judaism and the Jewish People
What is Jewish Studies?
The study of all aspects of Judaism and the Jewish people, including theology, ethics, history, languages, culture, customs and rituals, relations with other religions, etc.
Journal Articles
Use an index
Indexes specific to religion (online & print)
- RAMBI: The index of articles on Jewish Studies Online
- Religion Index – ATLA Online
- Religious and Theological Abstracts BL1 .R24 REFERENCE
- Old Testament Abstracts BS410 .O42 REFERENCE
- Index of
Jewish Periodicals Z6367 .I5 REFERENCE
General indexes
for history, literature, sociology
- Academic Universe Online
- Historical Abstracts Online
- Philosopher’s Index Online
Reference Sources
- Encyclopedia Judaica DS102.8 .E497 REFERENCE
- Encyclopedia of Judaism, 2n ed DS102.8 .E497 REFERENCE
- Encyclopedia of Jewish History: Events and Eras of the Jewish PeopleDS114 .E53 1986REFERENCE
- Encyclopedia of the Holocaust D894.3 .E53 1990 REFERENCE
- Atlas of Jewish History G1030 .C359 1994 REF-ATLAS REFERENCE
Books
WebCat
WorldCat
Sacred Texts
Bible
- TANAKH: The Traditional Hebrew Text and the New JPS Translation BS895 .J4 1999
- Etz Hayim: Torah and Commentary BS1222 .L54 2001
Talmud
- The Talmud [Babylonian Talmud]: the Steinsaltz Edition, Hebrew-English. BM499.5 .E4
- Talmud from the Land of Israel [Jerusalem Talmud] Prliminary translation by Jacob Neusner BM506
Mysticism
- Zohar [The Book of Slendor] BM525 .Z6 1978
Text Collections
Dead Sea Scrolls
Basic Concepts
General
Ancient
Israel
Antisemitism
Ethics, Philosophy, Theology, Ritual
History
Holidays, Traditions, & Rituals
Holocaust
Jews in
Arab and Muslim Lands
Jews in
Europe
Jews in the
Americas
Kabbalah/Mysticism
Israel/Zionism
Music/Art/Folklore
Relations with Christianity & Islam
Sephardic & Oriental Jews
Women
Films of Jewish Interest
Selected films from Rice's collection. (click here)Websites
