Bioengineering
A guide to Bioengineering resources at Fondren Library.
Bioengineeering Resources
This selection of specialized resources in Bioengineering is designed to help you navigate through the wealth of information in Fondren's collections. It is not a comprehensive list.
Finding Articles
Use indexes to find references to research articles and to other materials such as books, book chapters, dissertations, etc. In some cases, links to the full text are provided. When links are not available, use the E-Journal Portal to find access points for journals in electronic format. Some subscriptions are in paper format only; check Webcat to search for journals not found online. For indexes in other subject areas, see Fondren's list of Indexes and Databases.
Indexes
ANTE: Abstracts in New Technologies and Engineering| includes Full Text
No account or password necessary.
Covers new technologies such as information technology and computing, electronics, biotechnology, medical technology, as well as engineering (including construction, electrical and chemical engineering) and allied subject areas. (1981- )
Applied Sciences and Technology Index
T1 .A2 I5 - Reference Collection
Indexes articles from the more popular periodicals in science and technology. (1958 - )
Bibliography of Bioethics
R724.A1 A2 W34 - Reference Collection
Lists English language books, essays in books, journal and newspaper articles, court decisions, bills and laws, and audiovisual materials concerned with ethical, legal, and public policy aspects of health related topics. (1975 - )
Biological Abstracts
No account or password necessary.
Indexes approximately 5,500 international journals related to virtually every life science discipline, including: agriculture, biochemistry, biotechnology, ecology, environment, genetics, medicine, microbiology, neurology, and pharmacology. (Note: pop-up blocking must be disabled.) (1969-)
Compendex
No account or password necessary.
Indexes the engineering literature. (1884- )
Dissertations and Theses - A&I | includes Full Text
No account or password necessary.
Includes citations for masters and doctoral dissertations from 1861 to those accepted as recently as last semester. This database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities. The full text of dissertations and these may also be downloaded free of charge. (Rice, 1918 -)
Engineered Materials Abstracts | includes Full Text
No account or password necessary.
Citations regarding the research, manufacturing practices, properties and applications of polymers, ceramics and composites are pulled from 2,000 journals, plus patents, dissertations, government reports, conference proceedings, and books indexed by expert editors.
ETHXWeb
No account or password necessary.
Indexes journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, books, audiovisuals, and news articles related to bioethics and professional ethics. For ethics related to human genetics see GenETHX.
Faculty of 1000 Biology
No account or password necessary.
Highlights and reviews the most interesting papers published in the biological sciences, based on the recommendations from approximately 2300 selected faculty and leading researchers.
MEDLINE (available through Web of Science) | includes Full Text
Provides comprehensive bibliographic access to the international biomedical literature. (1966 - )
NTIS (National Technical Information Service)
No account or password necessary.
Provides full descriptive summaries of more than 750,000 documents and other materials NTIS has received from U.S. Government agencies. It offers unparalleled bibliographic coverage of U.S. government and worldwide government-sponsored research. (1990-)
Scopus | includes Full Text
No account or password necessary.
Indexes over 15,000 journals, as well as several million web pages and U.S. and international patents. Database include article citations from 1996, and permits citation tracking, and (both) saving searches and email or RSS alerts of new material. The system will export records into major citation managers and prepare a bibliography according to major formats. (1966- )
Web of Science (Web of Knowledge) | includes Full Text
No account or password necessary.
Includes the Science Citation Index (SCI), Biological Abstracts, Current Contents, and MEDLINE. SCI and SSCI have searchable author abstracts and each database may be searched by a variety of other accesses including who the author cites. Includes ISIHighlyCited: a directory of over 250 eminent researchers in life sciences, medicine, physical sciences and social sciences. (SCI 1900- )
Finding Books
WebCat
To locate a book in the Rice University Libraries, use this online catalog.
WorldCat
To locate a book that's not in WebCat, use this combined online catalog for over 15,000 libraries worldwide.
Other Libraries' Catalogs
To locate a book at some other local or national library, use this link.
Interlibrary Loan
To request a book from some other library, fill out the form on the library's Document Delivery website. This free service is available to only Rice students, faculty, and staff.
Finding Data
Databases, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks
Annual Review of Biomedical Engineering | includes Full Text
No account or password necessary.
Describes and evaluates recent noteworthy publication in the field of bioengineering. (1999 - )
Biomaterials and Bioengineering Handbook
R857 .M3 B5686 2000 - Fondren – General Stacks
Covers information on a wide range of biomaterials from polymers to metals and ceramics.
Current Protocols in Molecular Biology | includes Full Text
No account or password necessary.
Provides instructions for the essential methods used in every major area of molecular biological research.
The Electrical Engineering Handbook. 3rd Ed. Sensors, Nanoscience, Biomedical Engineering, and Instruments
R857 .B54 E44 2006 - Reference Collection
Provides complete reference in the fields of: signal processing, electronics, electromagnetics, electrical effects & devices, and energy, circuits and the emerging fields of communications, digital device, computer engineering systems, and biomedical engineering.
Encyclopedia of Bioprocess Technology: Fermentation, Biocatalysis, and Bioseparation
TP248.3 .F57 1999 - Reference Collection
Presents the applications and established theories in biotechnology, focusing on industrial applications of fermentation, biocatalysis, and bioseparation.
Encyclopedia of Genetics, Genomics, Proteomics and Bioinformatics | includes Full Text
No account or password necessary.
Contains more than 450 articles covering all apsects of genomics, proteomics, bioinformatics and related technologies.
Encyclopedia of Imaging Science and Technology
TA1632 .E53 2002 - Fondren - General Stacks
Provides coverage of imaging science and technology from a diverse range of applications, techniques, and fields of study. Can assist scientists, engineers, and physicians to better understand the science behind imaging techniques.
Encyclopedia of Medical Genomics and Proteomics
RB155 .E52 2005 - Reference Collection
Offers trail-blazing studies and authoritative contributions from more than 400 specialists on molecular diagnostics, genomics, microbiology, genetics, pharmacogenetics, pathology, forensics, tissue and cell typing, and disease susceptibility. It features coverage of key methods and technologies such as predictive genetic and pharmacogenetic testing and tissue typing for transplantatio. It compiles recommendations, research, spanning critical subjects such as DNA sequencing, point-of-care testing, quality management, oncology, cancer screening, and ethical issues related to genetics.
Encyclopedic Handbook of Biomaterials and Bioengineering
R856 .A3 E52 1995 - Reference Collection
Provides an exhaustive treatment of materials used in or on the human body, ranging from biopolymers for controlled release drug delivery systems to metal plates used in bone repair and absorbable devices such as sutures.
EngNetBase | includes Full Text
No account or password necessary.
Provides online access to the engineering handbooks published by CRC Press.
Handbook of Bioengineering
R856 .H36 1987 - Reference Collection
Provides authoritative summary accounts of the various topics that comprise the field of bioengineering.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
No account or password is necessary.
Contains articles on chemical substances, including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. Includes references to seminal patent and journal literature.
Merck Index 14th Edition
RS51 .M4 2006 - Reserve Desk
Indexes more than 10,000 monographs dealing with chemicals, drugs, and biologicals. Each monograph in this authoritative reference source is a concise description of a single substance or a small group of closely related compounds.
Methods in Modern Biophysics
QH505 .N65 2006 - Fondren - General Stacks
Surveys and explains the ten key biophysical methods, including those related to biophysical nanotechnology, scanning probe microscopy, X-ray crystallography, ion mobility spectrometry, mass spectrometry, proteomics, and protein folding and structure.
Physics in Medicine & Biology Encyclopedia: Medical Physics, Bioengineering and Biophysics
R895 .A3 P47 1986 - Reference Collection
Provides discussions of medical topics in terms of the physics theories that are used.
Proteome BioKnowledge Library
First time users must register
Incyte's BioKnowledge® Library is a collection of six database volumes, each containing fundamental biological information about proteins in different organisms, so scientists can quickly access information about proteins of interest. This information is hand-curated from the scientific literature and edited by experts in relevant biological disciplines.
Referex| includes Full Text
No account or password necessary.
Referex Engineering is a specialized electronic reference product that draws upon hundreds of engineering book titles.
Science.gov
Provides a gateway to over 50 million pages of provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results.
Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science| includes Full Text
No account or password necessary.
The basic component of the library is a 50- to 100-page "Lecture"; a self-contained electronic book that synthesizes an important research or development topic, authored by an expert contributor to the field. The library and its lectures are organized by series. The Synthesis platform provides the user with access to content in PDF with live links to references and sophisticated search and personalization functions. (2005-)
Dictionaries
Biotechnology from A to Z
TP248.16 .B33 2004 - Reference Collection
Provides clear, up-to-date guidance to the ideas and terminology of biotechnology. Features 300 entries and includes newly coined terms used in the biotechnolgy field. Organized alphabetically for quick reference.
Concise Dictionary of Biomedicine and Molecular Biology
R121 .J86 2002 - Reference Collection
Provides chemical structures and molecular weights of commonly used chemicals, drugs, antibiotics, naturally occurring compounds, products of DNA recombinant technology, and substances of environmental concern. Consists of more than 30,000 entries.
A Dictionary of Genetics
QH427 .K55 2006 - Reference Collection
Defines terms of the post-genomic era and includes not only strictly genetic terms, but also genetics-related words encountered in the scientific literature.
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Genetics, Genomics, and Proteomics
QH427 .R43 2003 - Reference Collection
Includes more than 2000 entries contributed by worldwide experts in genomics and proteomics. The entries comprise in-depth essays written in concise, lucid language and illustrated with dull-color figures as well as extensively cross-referenced keyword entries.
Style Guides
American Medical Association manual of style : a guide for authors and editors.
R119 .A533 1998 - Reference Desk
Provides guidelines for medical writing such as capitalization, grammar, correct usage, and punctuation. Gives style recommendations for citing electronic resources, and includes a chapter on the legal and ethical concerns in publishing, such as dealing with copyright and intellectual property issues, and the rights and responsibilities of authors, editors, and reviewers.
Citing Medicine: The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers
No account or password necessary.
Provides assistance to authors in compiling lists of references for their publications, to editors in revising such lists, to publishers in setting reference standards for their authors and editors, and to librarians and others in formatting bibliographic citations.
For further assistance, contact Bob Sabin by e-mail at sabin @rice.edu or by phone at 713-348-4324.
This Bioengineering Guide was compiled with assistance from Sonya Fogg. Updated (3/25/08).
