Chemical Engineering
A guide to Chemical Engineering resources at Fondren Library.
Chemical Engineeering Resources
This selection of specialized resources in Chemical Engineering is designed to help you navigate through the wealth of information in Fondren's collections. It is not a comprehensive list.
Finding Articles
Use indexes to find references to research articles and to other materials such as books, book chapters, dissertations, etc. In some cases, links to the full text are provided. When links are not available, use the E-Journal Portal to find access points for journals in electronic format. Some subscriptions are in paper format only; check Webcat to search for journals not found online. For indexes in other subject areas, see Fondren's list of Indexes and Databases.
Online Indexes
Academic Search Complete (courtesy of
Texshare) | includes Full Text
No account or password necessary.
Provides full text for more than 5,000 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Compendex
No account or password necessary.
Indexes the engineering literature. (1884- )
Corrosion Abstracts | includes Full Text
No account or password necessary.
Provides the most complete source of bibliographic information in the area of corrosion science and engineering. International sources of literature are scanned and abstracted for information in the areas of general corrosion, testing, corrosion characteristics, preventative measures, materials construction and performance.
Dissertations and Theses - A&I | includes Full Text
No account or password necessary.
Includes citations for masters and doctoral dissertations from 1861 to those accepted as recently as last semester. This database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities. The full text of dissertations and these may also be downloaded free of charge. (Rice, 1918 -)
INSPEC
Select Database from menu at upper left.
Provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature in physics, electronics and electrical engineering, computers and control, and information technology. Sources include more than 3,500 journals and more than 1,500 conference proceedings, books and reports. (1898- )
Proquest Science Journals | includes Full Text
No account or password necessary.
Covers a wide range of topics from both the physical and life science disciplines, including chemical engineering.
SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)
Special software requirements.
Accounts available for Rice University faculty, students and staff.
Indexes the literature of chemistry, including journal articles, patents, substance data, chemical reactions, chemical regulatory data, and chemical suppliers. Provides access to Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases including Chemical Abstracts, Registry, CASREACT, CHEMCATS, and CHEMLIST. (1907- )
Scopus | includes Full Text
No account or password necessary.
Indexes over 15,000 journals, as well as several million web pages and U.S. and international patents. Database include article citations from 1996, and permits citation tracking, and (both) saving searches and email or RSS alerts of new material. The system will export records into major citation managers and prepare a bibliography according to major formats. (1966- )
Web of Knowledge (Web of Science) | includes Full Text
No account or password necessary.
Integrates three citation indexes: Science Citation Index (SCI), Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI), and Arts and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI). SCI and SSCI have searchable author abstracts and each database may be searched by a variety of other accesses including who the author cites. Includes ISIHighlyCited: a directory of over 250 eminent researchers in life sciences, medicine, physical sciences and social sciences. (SCI 1900- )
Finding Books
WebCat
To locate a book in the Rice University Libraries, use this online catalog.
WorldCat
To locate a book that's not in WebCat, use this combined online catalog for over 15,000 libraries worldwide.
Other Libraries' Catalogs
To locate a book at some other local or national library, use this link.
Interlibrary Loan
To request a book from some other library, fill out the form on the library's Document Delivery website. This free service is available to only Rice students, faculty, and staff.
Finding Data
Encyclopedias and Handbooks
Chemical Engineer's Resource Page
No account or password necessary.
Provides online chemical engineering information.
Directory of Graduate Research (ACS)
No account or password necessary.
Lists faculty and research activities at U. S. and Canadian universities.
Encyclopedia of Chemical Processing and Design (McKetta)
TP9 .E66 - Reference Collection
Provides information on all aspects of chemical processing and design.
Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemical Analysis
QD131 .E5 - Reference Collection
Provides authoritative sources of information on all aspects of chemical processing and design.
Encyclopedia of Separation Science
TP156 .S45 E63 2000 - Reference Collection
Provides expert overviews of separation techniques such as flotation, distillation, and crystallization. Each article contains a selected bibliography of key books, review articles, and important research papers.
EngNetBase | includes Full Text
No account or password necessary.
Provides online access to the engineering handbooks published by CRC Press.
Handbook of Chemical Engineering Calculations
TP149 .H285 2004 - Fondren General Stacks
Provides calculations unique to chemical engineering, as well as information on basic mathematics and engineering.
International critical tables of numerical data, physics, chemistry and technology
No account or password necessary.
Contains critical data on inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances.
Featuring physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties.
IUPAC-NIST Solubility Data Series Database | includes Full Text
No account or password necessary.
Represents over 67,500 solubility measurements, compiled from 18 volumes of the IUPAC Solubility Data Series. There are about 1800 chemical substances in the database and 5200 systems, of which 473 have been critically evaluated. The database has over 1800 references.
Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology
No account or password necessary.
Contains articles on chemical substances, including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. Includes references to seminal patent and journal literature.
Knovel Critical Tables
No account or password necessary.
Contains tables of physical, solvent, and thermodynamic properties.
Landolt-Börnstein substance - property index
No account or password necessary.
Lists all substances and their properties which are reported on in the indexed Landolt-Börnstein volumes. In total, 160 000 organic and inorganic compounds are described by names, molecular structures, chemical abstract numbers and other identifiers. Properties are directly linked to the full documents at Springerlink.
Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS)
Oklahoma State University EHS website lists links to MSDS information available on the internet. Provides the proper procedures for handling or working with specific chemicals. Includes physical data, toxicity, health effects, first aid, reactivity, storage, disposal, protective equipment, and spill/leak procedures.
The Merck Index : An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals
RS51 .M4 2006 - Reserve Desk
Gives full descriptions of chemicals and drugs that include variant names, trademarks, properties, formulas, and uses.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
No account or password necessary.
Provides thermochemical, thermophysical, and ion energetics data compiled by the National Institute for Standards and Technology under the Standard Reference Data Program. Another way to access this data is through the NIST Data Gateway. For a periodic table and data on the elements see the NIST Physics Laboratory Physical Reference Data.
NTIS [National Technical Information Service]
No account or password necessary.
Provides full descriptive summaries of more than 750,000 documents and other materials NTIS has received from U.S. Government agencies. It offers unparalleled bibliographic coverage of U.S. government and worldwide government-sponsored research. (1990- )
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook
TP151 .P45 1997 - Reference Collection
Provides information on all aspects of chemical engineering, including economic and environmental aspects.
Riegel's Handbook of Industrial Chemistry
TP145 .R54 2003 - Fondren General Stacks
Covers all areas of the chemical process industry from synthetic organic chemicals to agro-chemicals to materials.
Ullman's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
TP9 .I53 1998 - Reference Collection
Gives comprehensive and authoritative information on industrial chemistry. Divided into two parts, Part A provides information on chemicals, product groups, areas of application, processes and technological concepts, Part B covers specific topics such as environmental protection and plant safety.
What Every Chemist Should Know About Patents (pdf)
No account or password necessary.
A resource from the American Chemical Society's Committee on Patents and Related Matters (2002). 2006 Supplement (pdf). Provides the chemical engineer with basic information about patents.
Dictionaries
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary
QD5 .C5 2001 - Reference Collection
Gives definitions of chemical engineering terms and provides descriptions of chemicals, raw materials, processes, equipment, and trademarked products.
Oxford Dictionary of Chemistry
No account or password necessary.
Covers all the commonly encountered terms in chemistry, including physical chemistry and biochemistry.
Directories
CHEMCATS
Special software requirements.
CAS product searchable using SciFinder or SciFinder Scholar
Gives information on nearly 8,000,000 commercially available chemicals and their worldwide suppliers.
ChemExper
No account or password necessary.
Gives information on chemical suppliers, along with links to spectra and other chemical data provided in chemical catalogs.
Chemical Engineering Buyers' Guide
No account or password necessary.
Provides information on companies, products, and trade names including contact information.
Directory of Chemical Producers: United States of America
TP12 .D5 2007 - Circulation Desk (Reserve)
Provides information about chemical manufacturers, their plant locations and chemical products.
Style Guides
The ACS Style Guide: Effective communication of scientific information
QD8.5 .A25 2006 (3rd Ed.)
A quick guide to Citing using the ACS style guide, 3rd Ed (pdf)
No account or password necessary.
Journal Abbreviations
Source Index (Chemical Abstracts Service Source Index, CASSI)
QD1 .A1 A515 1907-2004 - Reference Desk
Lists all periodicals that have ever had an article abstracted for Chemical Abstracts. Gives coomplete bibliographic information and history of the title. Also, shows library holdings for a title.
For further assistance, contact Bob Sabin by e-mail at sabin @rice.edu or by phone at 713-348-4324
Chemical Engineering guide compiled with assistance from Sonya Fogg. Updated (3/6/08).
