Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Fondren Library

Sections

Physics Fluency course

Guides to the Literature:

Guides to Information Sources in the Physical Sciences. David Stern. Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited. 2000. Resource contains reference resources in physics, and explains the role of different forms of literature in physics. It includes a core list of journals, and information on scholarly publishing.

Information Sources in Physics. 3rd ed., D.F. Shaw, ed., London: Bowker-Saur. 1994. Useful sections on geophysics, and  astrophysics.

Searching the Journal Literature:

The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data Systems (ADS)

Google Scholar

Scopus Indexes over 15,000 journals, as well as several million web pages and U.S. and international patents. Database include article citations from 1996, and permits citation tracking, and (both) saving searches and email or RSS alerts of new material. The system will export records into major citation managers and prepare a bibliography according to major formats. (1966 (pre-1966 for selected major publishers))

  • INSPEC The most comprehensive index to the journal and conference proceedings literature in physics. Inspec provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature in physics, electronics and electrical engineering, computers and control, and information technology. Sources include more than 3,500 journals and more than 1,500 conference proceedings, books and reports. (1898-)




Resolving Journal Abbreviations

http://journalseek.net/

Genamics JournalSeek is the largest completely categorized database of freely available journal information available on the internet. The database presently contains 94136 titles. Journal information includes the description (aims and scope), journal abbreviation, journal homepage link, subject category and ISSN. Searching this information allows the rapid identification of potential journals to publish your research in, as well as allow you to find new journals of interest to your field.


Finding Books

Find the location and call number in the online catalog.


Searching in Google:

  • Use Google Scholar:http://scholar.google.com/
  • Use good searching techniques:http://www.google.com/intl/en/help/cheatsheet.html
  • OPERATOR EXAMPLE   FINDS PAGES CONTAINING...
    vacation hawaii   the words vacation and Hawaii .
    Maui OR Hawaii   either the word Maui or the word Hawaii
    "To each his own"   the exact phrase to each his own
    virus computer   the word virus but NOT the word computer
    +sock   Only the word sock, and not the plural or any tenses or synonyms
    ~auto loan   loan info for both the word auto and its synonyms: truck, car, etc.
    define:computer   definitions of the word computer from around the Web.
    red * blue   the words red and blue separated by one or more words.
    I'm Feeling Lucky   Takes you directly to first web page returned for your query.


  • Keeping up with CURRENT EVENTS:

Physics New Update: http://www.aip.org/physnews/update/

Physics Today, Physics World (print magazines)

Physical Review Focus http://focus.aps.org

PhysicsWeb News Resources http://physicsweb.org/archive/news

SciCentral http://www.scicentral.com

Popular science magazines: Scientific American, New Scientist, Science, Nature


Personal tools