Friends of Fondren Library

The Friends of Fondren Library (FoFL), founded in 1950, is dedicated to stimulating growth in library resources and facilities for the 21st century. The Friends seeks to heighten community and alumni interest in Fondren Library and to support academic programs at Rice University by funding library collections and facilities.

Membership comes with benefits, including borrowing privileges for a year, advance notice of lectures and events, and more. Benefits in full, and information on becoming a member is available online.

Friends of Fondren Board

2021-2022 Board of Directors Officers

Shelley Gottschalk

John P. Dennis, III
President Elect

Lindsay Germano
VP, Membership

Walter Mark Buehler

Arlette Molina

Kristin Necessary Brookhart
Immediate Past President

2021-2022 Board of Directors

Natalye Appel

Barbara D. Byrd, J.D.

Virginia A. Clark, Ph.D.

Debby F. Crabtree

Malinda Russek Crain

Liz Howard Crowell

Clare H. Doyle

Julie Fette, Ph.D.

Zachary Foster

Ann Patton Greene

Clare W. Jackson

Catherine James

Melissa Matteson Jenkins

Mary McIntire, Ph.D. 

Jack Pendergrast

Susan Pilat

James C. Roberts

Nancy B. Shelby

Kimberly Manney Smith

Melinda L. Snell

Linda Sylvan

Robert M. Taylor, Jr.

Marian Cole Tindall

Laura C. Turley

Kristine G. Wallace, Ph.D.

Susan Trammell Whitfield

Don M. Woo

Ex Officio Board Members

Reginald DesRoches, Ph.D.
Rice University Provost

Sara Lowman
Vice Provost and University Librarian

Fred Oswald, Ph.D.
Chairman, University Committee on the Library

Mary Lowery
Executive Director

Deborah and Bryan Domning
Executive Director

Directors Emeriti

Texas B. Anderson, Ph.D.
W. Robbins Brice
Elizabeth Gillis
Harriet Calvin Latimer
Charles D. Maynard, Jr. 
John Ribble, M.D.
Karen Hess Rogers
Cathryn Rodd Selman
Lee Chatham Seureau
Mary Ellen Wilson
John E. Wolf, Jr., M.D., M.A.


Pat and Ira Gruber

Pat and Ira Gruber at Rice University’s Cohen House

Friends of Fondren was pleased to honor Pat and Ira Gruber at an in person 2022 gala held at Cohen House on Rice University, March 25th. Since 1966 the Grubers have been affiliated with Rice University in many capacities—as magisters at Hanszen College from 1968-1973, and as a longtime history faculty member (Ira). They have been generous supporters of the library through gifts of collections including P.G. Wodehouse books as well as Ira’s grandfather’s collection of salmon flies. The Grubers encouraged Jack Burke Jr. to donate his golfing papers to the Woodson Research Center, including the original plans for Champions Golf Club, as well as records for both the men’s and women’s national championships that were held there. In 2018, the Grubers established the “Friends of Fondren University Librarian’s Endowment,” and have since generously supported this fund with current use gifts as well as by establishing charitable gift annuities with Rice. This unrestricted endowed fund may be used by the university librarian to support collections, staff training, renovations—whatever is most needed. The Fondren Library greatly appreciates the generosity of the Grubers!

Thank You to Faculty and Speakers at Events

Friends of Fondren Library connects with the larger Rice and Houston communities through lectures and events throughout the academic year. Thank you to the faculty and staff members who make these events informative and enjoyable for members and guests. Previous event recordings are available online


Annual Meeting
Y. Ping Sun
University Representative

Y. Ping Sun
Y. Ping Sun

Books That Shaped My World
Yousif Shamoo
Ralph and Dorothy Looney Professor of BioSciences

Norie Guthrie, Archivist Librarian

Meet the Author
Kelsey Norman, Ph.D.
Baker Institute for Public Policy Fellow for the Middle East
Director, Women's Rights, Human Rights and Refugees Program

Kelsey Norman
Kelsey Norman

Lisa Balabanlilar
Professor, Department of History and Department of Transnational Asian Studies
Director, Chao Center for Asian Studies

Lisa Balabanlilar
Lisa Balabanlilar

2022 Event Honoring Rice University Authors, Editors, Composers and Artists
Jacqueline Couti
Laurence H. Favrot Professor, Modern and Classical Literatures and Cultures

Jacqueline Couti
Jacqueline Couti

Rachel Kimbro
Dean, School of Social Sciences
Herbert S. Autrey Chair in Social Sciences
Professor of Sociology

Rachel Kimbro
Rachel Kimbro

Christopher Sperandio
Associate Professor, Painting and Drawing, Visual and Dramatic Arts

Christopher Sperandio
Christopher Sperandio