Staff Directory

Library Administration
Name Job Title Email Phone
Sara Lowman Vice Provost & University Librarian lowman@rice.edu (713) 348-2457
Janet Thompson Business Manager tompson@rice.edu (713) 348-6119
Karen Hyde Assistant to Vice Provost/University Librarian khyde@rice.edu (713) 348-2591
Joe Hatfield Facility Manager - Library / Project Manager hatfiel@rice.edu (713) 348-2597
Friends of Fondren Library
Name Job Title Email Phone
Mary Lowery Executive Director, Friends of Fondren Library mary.lowery@rice.edu (713) 348-5157
Kathleen Randall Friends of Fondren Library Assistant krandall@rice.edu (713) 348-5908
Woodson Research Center
Name Job Title Email Phone
Amanda Focke Head of Special Collections afocke@rice.edu (713) 348-2124
Dara Flinn Archivist & Special Collections Librarian dflinn@rice.edu (713) 348-2542
Norie Guthrie Archivist & Special Collections Librarian slg4@rice.edu (713) 348-2563
Rebecca Russell Archivist & Special Collections Librarian russellr@rice.edu (713) 348-5133
Traci Patterson Processing Archivist tp35@rice.edu (713) 348-2586
Lauren DuBois Copy Cataloger for the Gilbert M. Cuthbertson Book Collection lmd8@rice.edu (713) 348-2586
Sylvia Podwika Processing Archivist sp82@rice.edu (713) 348-2586
Steven Loyd Processing Assistant swloyd@rice.edu none
Chris Banuelos Digital Archivist cab30@rice.edu TBD
Digital Scholarship Services
Name Job Title Email Phone
Lisa Spiro Assistant University Librarian for Digital Scholarship and Organizational Development lspiro@rice.edu (713) 348-2480
Sid Byrd Systems Developer sidb@rice.edu (713) 348-3603
Ying Jin Senior Application Developer ying.jin@rice.edu (713) 348-8082
Shannon Kipphut-Smith Scholarly Communications Liaison sk60@rice.edu (713) 348-3989
Monica Rivero Digital Curation Coordinator mpr1@rice.edu (713) 348-8086
Kelley Vernon Visual Resources Curator kvernon@rice.edu (713) 348-3324
Portia Hopkins CLIR/DLF Postdoctoral Research Associate in Data Curation for African American Studies pdh6@rice.edu TBD
Imran Khan Temporary Research Data Consultant ik14@rice.edu (346) 285-1521
Catherine Barber Data Services Specialist catherine.barber@rice.edu (713) 348-6211
Access Services
Name Job Title Email Phone
Susan Garrison Director of Access Services susan.garrison@rice.edu (713) 348-2573
Heidi Vieira Access Services Supervisor (Circulation, Course Reserves) heidi.j.vieira@rice.edu (713) 348-8895
Alexis Latner Access Services Associate latner@rice.edu (713) 348-4021
Sonia Oulahna Access Services Associate soulahna@rice.edu (713) 348-4021
Martha Hernandez Galvan Access Services Associate mh82@rice.edu (713) 348-4021
Mauricio Prado Access Services Associate mprado@rice.edu (713) 348-4021
Norma Perez Access Services Supervisor (Front Desk, Shelving) nperez@rice.edu (713) 348-2441
Andrew Vieira Access Services Assistant andrew.vieira@rice.edu 713-348-2441
Maria Arizmendez Access Services Assistant maria.f.arizmendez@rice.edu (713) 348-2441
Artemis Flores Access Services Associate ajf15@rice.edu (713) 348-4021
Angela Brown Access Services Supervisor (ILL) aabrown@rice.edu (713) 348-8835
Francine Arizmendez Senior Access Services Associate fariz@rice.edu (713) 348-8836
DeAndrea Smither Senior Access Services Associate smither@rice.edu (713) 348-8893
Hector Flores Access Services Assistant hector.e.flores@rice.edu (713) 348-2284
Shannon McKirchy Access Services Associate smm31@rice.edu (713) 348-4021
Samuel Folkman Access Services Assistant sjf4@rice.edu (713) 348-3737
Israel Longoria Access Services Assistant il16@rice.edu (713)348-2441
Tieranny Keahna Access Services Assistant tk50@rice.edu (713) 348-2441
Roland Ramirez Access Services Assistant rr58@rice.edu (713) 348-2441
Technical Services
Name Job Title Email Phone
Denis Galvin Assistant University Librarian for IT and Technical Services dgalvin@rice.edu (713) 348-3634
Kelley Center for Government Information, Data and Geospatial Services
Name Job Title Email Phone
Anna Xiong Government Information Coordinator axiong@rice.edu (713) 348-6212
Hannah Edlund Government Information Librarian he3@rice.edu (713) 348-4356
Mary Kelleher Kelley Center Support Staff mk122@rice.edu (713) 348-2587
GIS/Data Center
Name Job Title Email Phone
Kim Ricker Head of GIS/Data Center kricker@rice.edu (713) 348-5691
Ibrahim Gumel GIS Support Specialist iag5@rice.edu (713) 348-2595
Digital Media Commons
Name Job Title Email Phone
Jane Zhao Director, Digital Media Commons janezhao@rice.edu (713) 348-3696
Mario Norton DMC Supervisor men3@rice.edu (713) 348-2594
Ian Mellor-Crummey Digital Media Support Specialist imm2@rice.edu (713) 348-3635
User Experience Office
Name Job Title Email Phone
Debra Kolah Head of User Experience dkolah@rice.edu (713) 348-2350
Amanda Thomas User Experience/Public Services Librarian alt5@rice.edu (713) 348-3771
Library Systems
Name Job Title Email Phone
Denis Galvin Assistant University Librarian for IT and Technical Services dgalvin@rice.edu (713) 348-3634
Arnold Chee Support Specialist III arnold@rice.edu (713) 348-5835
Jeff Koffler Web/Graphic Designer jmkoffler@rice.edu (713) 348-4414
Mang Sun Systems Librarian mang.sun@rice.edu (713) 348-2670
Hanjun Lee Web Applications Developer hl39@rice.edu (713) 348-3893
Devan Shepard Support Specialist I devan@rice.edu (713) 348-2769
Reference
Name Job Title Email Phone
Sandi Edwards Assistant University Librarian for Research Services edwards@rice.edu (713) 348-2504
Mary Brower Music Librarian & Reference Coordinator mdumont@rice.edu (713) 348-2593
Bob Sabin Science/Engineering Librarian sabin@rice.edu (713) 348-4324
Anna Shparberg Humanities Librarian shparberg@rice.edu (713) 348-3809
Joe Goetz Information Literacy Librarian jgoetz@rice.edu 713-348-3892
Jun Qian Collections Assessment & Engineering Librarian junq@rice.edu 713-348-3802
Business Information Center
Name Job Title Email Phone
Nicolas Castellanos Director, Business Information Resources nc61@rice.edu (713) 348-2801
Elise McCutchen Senior Library Associate emccutch@rice.edu (713) 348-2836
Library Service Center
Name Job Title Email Phone
James Springer Library Service Center Manager jamess@rice.edu (713) 348-3880
Rosalba Benavides Library Service Center Shelver/Driver rosalba@rice.edu (713) 348-3880
Nancy Infante Library Service Center Shelver/Driver infante@rice.edu (713) 348-3880
Duc Pham Library Service Center Shelver/Driver dpv@rice.edu (713) 348-3880
Chinh Doan Library Service Center shelver/driver cd27@rice.edu (713) 348-2441
Collection Development
Name Job Title Email Phone
Scott Vieira Collection Development Coordinator svieira@rice.edu (713) 348-2621
Acquisitions
Name Job Title Email Phone
David Bynog Head of Acquisitions dbynog@rice.edu (713) 348-4811
Amanda McClendon Senior Electronic Resources Librarian akm15@rice.edu (713) 348-4320
Thumy Webb Electronic Resources Librarian thumy.webb@rice.edu (713) 348-2926
Michael Vessels Library Receiving Coordinator mvessels@rice.edu (713) 348-8780
Cathy Wilson Mail Clerk cathyw@rice.edu (713) 348-2274
Juany Zamora Library Receiving Clerk juany@rice.edu (713) 348-3645
Julia Kress Senior Electronic Resources Assistant jekress@rice.edu (713) 348-8711
Erick Neveu Accounting Assistant III ejn3@rice.edu (713) 348-4023
Mariah Miller Library Receiving Clerk mm186@rice.edu (713) 348-8781
Steffi Dardon Electronic Resources Assistant steffi.dardon@rice.edu (713) 348-8781
Cataloging & Metadata Services
Name Job Title Email Phone
TBD Head of Cataloging and Metadata Services tbd@rice.edu TBD
Keith Chapman Music Catalog Librarian kochpman@rice.edu (713) 348-3727
Linda Keating Original Monograph/Special Formats Cataloger keating@rice.edu (713) 348-3727
Jeanette Sewell Database & Metadata Management Coordinator jeanette.sewell@rice.edu (713) 348-8713
Dave Erlandson Metadata Analyst de12@rice.edu (713) 348-3727
Hweifen Weng Chinese Catalog Librarian hweng@rice.edu (713) 348-2604
TBD Metadata/Copy Cataloging Unit Team Lead no-reply@rice.edu TBD
Marco Flores Copy Cataloger mflores@rice.edu (713) 348-2571
Kathy Knox Senior Metadata Assistant kknox@rice.edu (713) 348-2571
TBD Temporary Senior Metadata Assistant tbd@rice.edu TBD
Angelica Herrera Copy Cataloger Metadata Assistant amh19@rice.edu (713) 348-2571
Sara Trejo Copy Cataloger strejo@rice.edu (713) 348-2571
Jane Jones Copy Cataloger mjsjones@rice.edu (713) 348-2604
Preservation Services
Name Job Title Email Phone
Debra Cosby Staff Assistant cosby@rice.edu (713) 348-5219
Andrew Damico Preservation Librarian adamico@rice.edu (713) 348-2602
Sonia Shankle Preservation Assistant srs@rice.edu (713) 348-2602